Wednesday, August 9, 2017

The Luster of Lost Things - Guest Blogger Today!

Guest Blogger Connie Melvin

Today we are sharing a review from a previous employee who is still a voracious reader.

Enjoy!


  The Luster of Lost Things


Walter, the main character is 12 yrs old and has a neurological condition that makes it difficult for the words he thinks to be conveyed to his lips. Consequently like someone who is blind or deaf, Walter sees much more in the world around him than do most people. He is accompanied by his Marleyish yellow lab, Milton but do not think this is a middle grade book. It is an adult book and a wonderful read full of wonderful characters, many of them the invisible/forgotten residents of New York City, who Walter meets as he searches feverishly for a lost book that could mean the success or failure of his mother's bakery.

The language is special and while not an especially long book, the plot and the myriad of players well done.

I feel guilty when I share with you my opinion on a book I was not impressed with, but there are too many books to read and I know I always appreciate when one of you tell me a book is not worth my time. So conversely I am delighted when I finish a book that I can enthusiastically recommend as much as I can "The Luster of Lost Things".

Tuesday, August 1, 2017

Alisyn Camerota Author Event

Don't miss CNN morning show co-anchor Alisyn Camerota tonight at the New Canaan Library 6:30PM.
Her book, "Amanda Wakes Up" is a fast-paced romp through the world of broadcast news and politics that feels oh so real. Alisyn holds nothing back in delivering a novel that is steeped in the universal desire to have it all.

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Author Joy Callaway will Join your booksclub!

One of our favorite authors, Joy Callaway has offered to join your book group via Skype!
How fun is that. Check out her latest title.

Follow this link to sign your book club up for a future meeting.


http://www.joycallaway.com/book-clubs/

Thursday, July 13, 2017

Mimosa and Muffins



 
Stop by Elm Street Books
Saturday July 22nd 11am - 1pm
for Mimosas and Muffins
with author
Holly Peterson!
 

Thursday, July 6, 2017

Summer Thrillers

Awesome Thrillers coming soon!

Publishing in July & August are some terrific new thrillers.

Liz Nugent brings us the tale of "Unraveling Oliver." A psychologically complex character who leaves much damage in his wake. Told through the eyes of those who knew Oliver we slowly peel back the layers of his dark persona to reveal the core of his psychopathic soul. (August)
___________________________________________________________
 
One of our favorites is Wendy Walker. She gave us "All is Not Forgotten" and now a blockbuster title, "Emma In the Night."
An unreliable narrator twists us through this psychological thriller. It gives new meaning to dysfunctional relations. (August)

 
 
___________________________________________

L.S.Hinton author of "Maestra" a thriller with a strong sexual vibe brings us Judith Rashleigh, the ever glamorous, cunning and deadly protagonist of "Domina." This is for readers of "The Girl With the Dragon Tatoo." not for the faint of heart.


________________________________________________________________
 
Looking for a fun mystery to take to the beach? How about one set in Nantucket? A murder or an accident? Hidden secrets or lost memories? Keep turning those pages, sunscreen by your side, sand beneath your feet!


Thursday, April 6, 2017


Awesome!!!!
 
A high-stakes drama set against the harsh beauty of the Maine wilderness, charting the journey of four friends as they fight to survive the aftermath of a white water rafting accident, The River at Night is a nonstop and unforgettable thriller by a stunning new voice in fiction.
 
An Entertainment Weekly "Must List" Pick

Thursday, February 23, 2017

Christina Baker Kline Author Talk

Join us at The Stamford Ferguson Library Saturday February 25th @ 3PM

Her latest book,


A Piece of the World

REVIEWS

“A Piece of the World is the decoding of a 20th century mystery, for who has not gazed on Wyeth’s picture and wondered, why does that girl have so very far to go? Kline’s gift is to dispense with the fustiness and fact-clogged drama that can weigh down some historical novels to tell a pure, powerful story of suffering met with a fight. In fiction, in her quiet way, Christina triumphs – and so does this novel.”  – O Magazine


 
2.5 million copies in print•A #1 international bestseller, published in 40 countries•More than 2 years on the New York Times, USA Today, and national Indie bestseller lists• 5 weeks at #1 on the NYT list, over a year in the top 5
• Over 100 weeks on the USA Today Top 100 list
• Chosen as a “One Book, One Read” by over 100 communities and campuses

Thursday, February 2, 2017

New Canaan All Town Read
Euphoria by Lily King

 
“A taut, witty, fiercely intelligent tale of competing egos and desires in a landscape of exotic menace—a love triangle in extremis… King is brilliant.”
new york times books review

Join Elm Street Books at the New Canaan Library March 21st @ 6:30pm
Register Early
203-594-5000

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Join us at Elm Street Books
on Tuesday
February 7th, 7:00pm
 
Book signing party with author Abby Fabiaschi.
I Liked My Life
"A heartbreaking and ultimately heartwarming read about life, death, and family." —PopSugar, A Best Winter 2016 Book

In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Where'd You Go, Bernadette? comes a story from debut author Abby Fabiaschi that is "as absorbing as it is illuminating, and as witty as it is heartbreaking."