Wednesday, September 27, 2017

October Author Talks

Don't Miss these terrific authors.

Wilton Library October 11th 7pm
H.W.Brands - The General vs. The President


Wilton Library October 17th 7pm
Denise Kiernan - The Last Castle

New Canaan Library  October 20th 6:30pm
Peter Hellman - In Vino Duplicitas
 

New Canaan Country School October 17th 6:30pm
Alisyn Camerota - Amanda Wakes Up




More to Come!!

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Jack Foster Booksigning

This Saturday September 23 12noon - 2:30pm

Stop by Elm Street Books to meet and chat with Jack Foster, author of

How to Buy Bonds

Former selectman and resident of New Canaan for the past 40 years, Jack will share his expertise from his long standing career in credit analysis.

His finance experience includes 20 years at J P Morgan as chairman of the Credit Rating Committee and as Mergers and Acquisitions advisor.
He'll be signing copies of his book. Also available on audio.

Saturday, September 2, 2017

Win an author visit to your school.

Gigi Priebe, author of
"The Adventures of Henry Whiskers"
will be
In front of Baskin Robbins and Toy Chest 
signing copies
of her second book in the series:
"The Long Way Home"
 
On Sunday, September 10th
1:00 to 3:00p.m.
Stop by to receive a free copy (while supplies last) courtesy of
First County Bank
  
DO YOU WANT GIGI PRIEBE TO VISIT YOUR CHILD'S CLASSROOM AND GET FREE BOOKS?

Elm Street Books will be holding a raffle at the event. The child who wins the raffle will receive a free author visit to their school (within a 15 mile radius of New Canaan) plus free, signed books for their homeroom, 
courtesy of First County Bank.
  
Both books are available for sale at Elm Street Books.
                                          
 
 
 

 

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

September 9th booksigning.

Booksigning at Elm Street Books

September 9th 12noon - 2:30

Stop by to meet author Eleanor Kuhns. She'll be signing copies of her latest book,

The Devil's Cold Dish

Saturday, August 26, 2017

Kate Fagan @ the New Canaan Library


Don't miss ESPN's commentator and journalist, Kate Fagan @ the New Canaan Library. September 6th, 6:30PM.
The heart breaking and vital story of college athlete Madison Holleran, whose death by suicide rocked the University of Pennsylvania campus and whose life reveals with haunting detail and uncommon understanding the struggle of young people suffering from mental illness today.
Register at the www.newcanaanlibrary.ord

Co-sponsor New Canaan Cares

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Booksigning with Fiona Davis


Stop by Elm Street Books this Saturday August 26th 12noon - 2:30 PM to meet and chat with Fiona Davis. She will be signing copies of both her titles, The Dollhouse and The Address!
Great reads.

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

The Luster of Lost Things - Guest Blogger Today!

Guest Blogger Connie Melvin

Today we are sharing a review from a previous employee who is still a voracious reader.

Enjoy!


  The Luster of Lost Things


Walter, the main character is 12 yrs old and has a neurological condition that makes it difficult for the words he thinks to be conveyed to his lips. Consequently like someone who is blind or deaf, Walter sees much more in the world around him than do most people. He is accompanied by his Marleyish yellow lab, Milton but do not think this is a middle grade book. It is an adult book and a wonderful read full of wonderful characters, many of them the invisible/forgotten residents of New York City, who Walter meets as he searches feverishly for a lost book that could mean the success or failure of his mother's bakery.

The language is special and while not an especially long book, the plot and the myriad of players well done.

I feel guilty when I share with you my opinion on a book I was not impressed with, but there are too many books to read and I know I always appreciate when one of you tell me a book is not worth my time. So conversely I am delighted when I finish a book that I can enthusiastically recommend as much as I can "The Luster of Lost Things".

Tuesday, August 1, 2017

Alisyn Camerota Author Event

Don't miss CNN morning show co-anchor Alisyn Camerota tonight at the New Canaan Library 6:30PM.
Her book, "Amanda Wakes Up" is a fast-paced romp through the world of broadcast news and politics that feels oh so real. Alisyn holds nothing back in delivering a novel that is steeped in the universal desire to have it all.

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Author Joy Callaway will Join your booksclub!

One of our favorite authors, Joy Callaway has offered to join your book group via Skype!
How fun is that. Check out her latest title.

Follow this link to sign your book club up for a future meeting.


http://www.joycallaway.com/book-clubs/

Thursday, July 13, 2017

Mimosa and Muffins



 
Stop by Elm Street Books
Saturday July 22nd 11am - 1pm
for Mimosas and Muffins
with author
Holly Peterson!
 

Thursday, July 6, 2017

Summer Thrillers

Awesome Thrillers coming soon!

Publishing in July & August are some terrific new thrillers.

Liz Nugent brings us the tale of "Unraveling Oliver." A psychologically complex character who leaves much damage in his wake. Told through the eyes of those who knew Oliver we slowly peel back the layers of his dark persona to reveal the core of his psychopathic soul. (August)
___________________________________________________________
 
One of our favorites is Wendy Walker. She gave us "All is Not Forgotten" and now a blockbuster title, "Emma In the Night."
An unreliable narrator twists us through this psychological thriller. It gives new meaning to dysfunctional relations. (August)

 
 
___________________________________________

L.S.Hinton author of "Maestra" a thriller with a strong sexual vibe brings us Judith Rashleigh, the ever glamorous, cunning and deadly protagonist of "Domina." This is for readers of "The Girl With the Dragon Tatoo." not for the faint of heart.


________________________________________________________________
 
Looking for a fun mystery to take to the beach? How about one set in Nantucket? A murder or an accident? Hidden secrets or lost memories? Keep turning those pages, sunscreen by your side, sand beneath your feet!


Thursday, April 6, 2017


Awesome!!!!
 
A high-stakes drama set against the harsh beauty of the Maine wilderness, charting the journey of four friends as they fight to survive the aftermath of a white water rafting accident, The River at Night is a nonstop and unforgettable thriller by a stunning new voice in fiction.
 
An Entertainment Weekly "Must List" Pick

Thursday, February 23, 2017

Christina Baker Kline Author Talk

Join us at The Stamford Ferguson Library Saturday February 25th @ 3PM

Her latest book,


A Piece of the World

REVIEWS

“A Piece of the World is the decoding of a 20th century mystery, for who has not gazed on Wyeth’s picture and wondered, why does that girl have so very far to go? Kline’s gift is to dispense with the fustiness and fact-clogged drama that can weigh down some historical novels to tell a pure, powerful story of suffering met with a fight. In fiction, in her quiet way, Christina triumphs – and so does this novel.”  – O Magazine


 
2.5 million copies in print•A #1 international bestseller, published in 40 countries•More than 2 years on the New York Times, USA Today, and national Indie bestseller lists• 5 weeks at #1 on the NYT list, over a year in the top 5
• Over 100 weeks on the USA Today Top 100 list
• Chosen as a “One Book, One Read” by over 100 communities and campuses

Thursday, February 2, 2017

New Canaan All Town Read
Euphoria by Lily King

 
“A taut, witty, fiercely intelligent tale of competing egos and desires in a landscape of exotic menace—a love triangle in extremis… King is brilliant.”
new york times books review

Join Elm Street Books at the New Canaan Library March 21st @ 6:30pm
Register Early
203-594-5000

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Join us at Elm Street Books
on Tuesday
February 7th, 7:00pm
 
Book signing party with author Abby Fabiaschi.
I Liked My Life
"A heartbreaking and ultimately heartwarming read about life, death, and family." —PopSugar, A Best Winter 2016 Book

In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Where'd You Go, Bernadette? comes a story from debut author Abby Fabiaschi that is "as absorbing as it is illuminating, and as witty as it is heartbreaking."